top of page
Search

Culture, Genoa style

What happened to the ability to be up and out by 0730? Finally a vacation that leaves my old schedule behind.

One item on Sunday’s agenda…Opera!

A brisk walk via the street of Palaces to the main downtown plaza and teatro Carlo Felice for La Boheme. Gorgeous singing so effortlessly performed. Like so much in a place where this particular cultural form was born.

In the well lit night I wander the wide avenues in a part of Genoa with few tourists and none of those groups of aimless young men so plentiful elsewhere. They are not the market for Gucci shops, Uggs with bling, and palace gardens illuminated for best views.

I encounter a non-tourist restaurant where each item is hand made requiring time to convene the ingredients and appreciate the effort. The Signora keeps my wine glass filled as we exchange in halting Italian and halting English the fine points of daily hand making pasta, local fish stew and a mighty fine apple dessert that recalls my own grandmother’s.

At my age I am liberated to wander the city streets at night.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page