top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNot Far from the Tree

Sweet Spot

Over weeks of walking and traveling by train around the region,  there has been no lack of fairy tale vistas,  world heritage palazzos and dramatic seaside villages.

Just on the outskirts of Genoa is Nervi, a 1.60 euro 15 minute train ride from Principio, the main station down the block from my hotel.

Vistas, check!

A sea wall carved from the mountains and paved with brick.

A world away from the world away, check!

A woman-owned bistro, check!

Home made focaccia hot from the oven.  Gratis wine, because I look like Ineed a glass.

Elegant desserts in two sizes, all decorated with the bisro’s signature wafer.  And salads!  After weeks of pasta first courses, it will be a while before I consume a once-favorite food.  I was ready to commit a crime for a salad. I choose one featuring local anchovies. And corn!

My last day will be spent with the ladies, sitting, sewing, and enjoying this sweet spot.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page